StM News

2015 Martin de Tours Award Announced

William E. Wright, Jr. '67 named 2015 Martin de Tours award recipient.
St. Martin's Episcopal School is pleased to announce its recipient of the 2015 Martin de Tours Award: William E. Wright, Jr. '67. Alumni are invited to attend the Award Ceremony on Friday, November 20, at 9:40 a.m. in the Solomon Theater. You are also invited to join us at the reception before the ceremony, in the lobby of the Solomon Theater at 9:00 a.m.

Mr. Wright is a partner in the New Orleans firm of Deutsch Kerrigan, L.L.P. He has been recognized in "The Best Lawyers in America" List (Commercial Litigation, Professional Liability) and "Louisiana Super Lawyers" List (Business Litigation, Professional Liability) since 2007.  He was identified in the New Orleans CityBusiness "Leadership in Law" List as one of the Top 50 Lawyers in New Orleans in 2011. In addition to these accolades, Mr. Wright has been a speaker on numerous national and local programs addressing professional liability and ethical issues.  Mr. Wright is the author of several published articles, including "Attorneys as Defendants," The Practical Lawyer; "Public Accountant Review Panels in Louisiana: Lessons Learned from the First Ten Years," Lagniappe Magazine; and "Ethical Considerations in Representing Multiple Parties in Litigation," Tulane Law Review.  He also authored the Professional Liability Chapter in West's Treatise on Insurance Coverage Litigation.
In addition to his outstanding professional accomplishments, Mr. Wright also is a leader in the community. He has been extremely active in the nonprofit organization Habitat for Humanity; he was a member of the New Orleans Area Board of Habitat for Humanity from 2006 to 2012, and was president of the Board from 2009 to 2011. He remained actively involved in Habitat's strategic planning process from 2012 to 2014 and returned to the Board in 2014; he is currently serving on the Executive Committee.  Mr. Wright was instrumental in initiating the Musicians' Village and in completing the Ellis Marsalis Music Center. In addition to his extensive work with Habitat, Mr. Wright has served on the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, chaired the Annual Leukemia Fundraising Cup Regatta several times, and was the top fundraiser twice. He served as Commodore of the Southern Yacht Club and as a member of the SYC Board for 12 years.  Mr. Wright exemplifies the St. Martin's value of Faith as well.  He has served on the Vestry of Trinity Episcopal Church where he is also a lector and usher, and has chaired the Stewardship Committee.              
The Martin de Tours Award is given annually to an exemplary citizen who has consistently served his/her community and has demonstrated a commitment to the highest standards in his/her chosen field of endeavor. Past recipients include: Robert L. Livingston, Jr. '60, Sue Ruppel Laudeman '55, Hans A.B. Jonassen '58, Julie Hogue McCollam '52, Gwynne Bowman '59, W. Brooks Emory '60, James O. Gundlach '64, Robert W. Merrick '62, S. Ford Rowan, Jr. '61, Patty Habeeb Muehlemann '65, Carlos Zervigon '57, John M. Girault, Sr. '55, Robert J. "Bobby" Whann III '57, Antonio Cabrales '54, John Gage '59, Peggy Higgins Sewell '68, Betsy Threefoot  Kaston '72, Walter E. Blessey, Jr. '62, Donald K. Marshall '68, and Cynthia Phillips Schmidt '74. 
Named for the patron saint of the school, the award is StM's highest alumni honor.  Martin de Tours is best known for his ability to find God in the simple joys of life. There is a well-known story in which Martin met a shivering beggar at the gates of the city of Amiens in Gaul.  Moved with compassion, he divided his coat into two parts and gave one to the poor man. Martin de Tours exemplified the aspect of service that we value so highly at St. Martin's Episcopal School.

Share your StM