2019 Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame Inducted

2019 Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame Inducted
As part of the Homecoming Festivities St. Martin's Episcopal School inducted new members into the Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame:  Kelly McGeeehan ’92, and the 1983 State Champion Volleyball team. 

The 2019 Hall of Fame class was formally inducted in a ceremony at the Upper School assembly on September 27, 2019. WDSU Sports Anchor/Reporter Fletcher Mackel served as master of ceremonies. Inductees were also honoured at the school's presentation of the Hall of Fame at the Homecoming football game that evening. 

Kelly McGeehan ’92
McGeehan was a multi-sport athlete at St. Martin's who participated and excelled in volleyball, soccer, and track and field.  During the ceremony, she was introduced by her father, former coach, and Hall of Fame member Coach Charles ‘Chick’ McGeehan

McGeehan received many accolades over the years, including being named to the 1989, 1991, and 1992 All-District Soccer and 1989 and 1992 All-Metro Soccer Teams. She was also named to the 1991 and 1992 All-District Track and Field Team. In 1992, she was named District MVP in field events.

McGeehan was also a member of the 1992 State Champion Track and Field team. At one time, she held the StM records for shot and discus. She was the leading scorer during the 1989 and 1991 soccer season. During her senior year, she served as team captain for all three sports and was voted St. Martin’s Most Athletic Girl. 

1983 State Champion Volleyball Team 
The 1983 Saints Volleyball team capped a great season with the Division III State Championship. With a 30-6 record for the year, the team dominated multiple tournaments throughout the season, routinely beating school from larger divisions. It finished the season undefeated in eight straight district matches. Several members of the team earned postseason honors: Tracey Moore was named District MVP. Peyton Pettit and Jeanne Herrington were named 1st Team All-District. Shannon Goodrow, Andra Rodriguez, and MK Williams were named 2nd Team All-District. 

Members of the team were: Alexis Brown, Margaret Christy, Shannon Goodrow, Jeanne Herrington, Cindy Hild, Janet Jenkins, Leah Miciotto, Anne Mitchell, Tracey Moore, Peyton Pettit, Andra Rodriguez, Shannon Ryan, Marsha Smith, and Mary Kay Williams. The team was coached by Linda Trevino and Kerry Vogt. The group was introduced by their coach, Linda Trevino.

Past Inductees
Each year, St. Martin's inducts new members into its Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame, which was established in 2006. The Hall of Fame recognizes individuals and teams who distinguished themselves in interscholastic athletics as players, coaches, athletic trainers, or administrators while at St. Martin's.

Past inductees include: the 1951 Metro Championship Football Team, Coach Tony Porter, Ben Tisdale '54, John Eastman '64, Glenn Johnson Brady '65, John Girault '55, the 1969 Class A State Track Champions, JoAnn DeMartini '82, Kate McCall '79, Chris Delaune '91, the 1978 Volleyball State Championship Team, Linda Tuero Lindsley '68, William Ball '73, Gerald Lewis '89, Ashley Tappin Doussan '93, Barbara Farris '94, the 1991 State Championship Baseball Team, Frederick Devall III '56, Anne Monsted '93, the 1954 Basketball Team, James Vaughn '63, Alfredo Mesa '89, the 1993 Girls Track and Field Team, the 1959 Relay Team, Christian A. Shofstahl '93, Linda Trevino, Anne Shepherd Breitschwerdt '69, Chris Beckman, Sr. '88, the 1992-1993 Girls Basketball Team, Sam Dozier, John Lehman '62, Charles M. Steen '60, the 1971 Swim Team, Catherine Betz '98, Charles “Chick” McGeehan, Mary K. Williams Shean '86, and Todd DeMonte '87.

To submit nominations for the 2020 Hall of Fame, visit stmsaints.com/alumniawards.

Share your StM