StM News

Kelly Duncan ’72 Named Martin de Tours Award Recipient

Kelly Duncan ’72 Named Martin de Tours Award Recipient
Kelly Duncan, of the Class of 1972, is the 2018-19 recipient of St. Martin’s Episcopal School’s Martin de Tours Award. The award is given each school year to an alum who is an outstanding citizen, consistently serving the community and demonstrating a commitment to the highest standards in his/her chosen field of endeavor. Duncan is St. Martin’s 24th recipient of the Martin de Tours award.

“Kelly Duncan is the ideal civic leader and friend of the school to receive this award,” said Head of School Dr. Merry Sorrells in making the announcement. “He will serve as a true role model for our community schoolwide, and particularly for our student body.”

After graduating from St. Martin’s, Duncan graduated cum laude from Georgetown University in 1976. He then attended Tulane University Law School, earning a J.D. in 1979.

Duncan is a partner in the Maritime Practice Group at Jones Walker in New Orleans. He currently serves as co-chair of the firm’s Gaming Industry Team and was a member of the firm’s Board of Directors from 2006 to 2014.

Throughout his career, Duncan has held several distinguished positions. He is the current president of the Audubon Commission and a past chairman of the Bureau of Governmental Research. He is also a past Chairman of the Audubon Nature Institute, past president of the Louisiana Children’s Museum, and past President of the Louisiana Nature and Science Center. He is also a past president of the International Masters of Gaming Law and a member of the International Association of Gaming Advisors. He has served as a speaker at international gaming conferences and at maritime seminars around the world, and is one of only seven gaming attorneys from the United States listed as a notable practitioner in the 2018 edition of Chambers Global Guide.

He has also received numerous accolades. Duncan was recognized as a 2018 Top Lawyer by New Orleans Magazine. In 2016 he was named to the New Orleans CityBusiness Leadership in Law Hall of Fame. He received the New Orleans CityBusiness Leadership in Law Award in 2005, 2009, and 2016.

In addition to impressive professional accomplishments, Duncan has held many leadership roles in the community.  He has been involved with the Audubon Nature Institute, John Charles Olmsted Society for Audubon Park, Louisiana Children’s Museum, Louisiana Nature and Science Center, United Way, Young Leadership Council. and New Orleans Museum of Art. He has been active in Trinity Episcopal Church and School. He currently serves on St. Martin’s Board of Trustees as well.

Named for the patron saint of the school, the Martin de Tours Award is St. Martin's highest alumni honor. Martin de Tours is best known for his ability to find God in the simple joys of life. While serving as an officer in the Roman army, Martin met a shivering beggar at the gates of the city of Amiens in Gaul. Moved with compassion, he divided his cloak into two parts and gave one to the beggar. Martin de Tours exemplified the aspect of service that is valued so highly at St. Martin's Episcopal School.

Past Martin de Tours Award recipients include: Robert L. Livingston, Jr. ’60, Sue Ruppel Laudeman ’55, Hans A.B. Jonassen ’58, Julie Hogue McCollam ’52, Gwynne Bowman ’59, W. Brooks Emory ’60, James O. Gundlach ’64, Robert W. Merrick ’62, S. Ford Rowan, Jr. ’61, Patty Habeeb Muehlemann ’65, Carlos Zervigon ’57, John M. Girault, Sr. ’55, Robert J. “Bobby” Whann III ’57, Antonio Cabrales ’54, John Gage ’59, Peggy Higgins Sewell ’68, Betsy Threefoot Kaston ’72, Walter E. Blessey, Jr. ’62, Donald K. Marshall ’68, Cynthia Phillips Schmidt ’74, William E. Wright Jr. ’67, John Eastman ’64, and Charles Nelson ’65.  

Share your StM